Contact Us

Understanding the 1031 Exchange

Monopoly

While roughly 200,000 people call Cape Cod their year-round home, more than 500,000 are here in the summer months, meaning that many of Cape Cod’s homes are purchased for vacation or investment purposes.  If you own an investment property on the Cape or elsewhere, and have thought about upgrading to a nicer property – perhaps one closer to the water that will bring in greater income – then you should understand Section 1031 of the … Read more…

The Sale/List Price Ratio

ListSalePrice

As of the writing of this Blog post, the average sale/list price ratio for Barnstable County is 94%, meaning that ON AVERAGE, homes are selling for 94% of their list price. This leads both buyers and sellers to believe that a home priced at $500K should sell for $470K. But when it comes to negotiating, whether you are the buyer or the seller, the sale/list price ratio is not a meaningful statistic, and should have … Read more…

Resale Considerations for Cape Cod Homebuyers

SoldSign

If you’re in the market for a house on the Cape and you plan to own the home for a long time, you’re probably not too concerned about the ease of reselling the home in the future. But if on the other hand, you think there’s a good chance you might own the home less than 5 years, you might want to be extra careful about not buying a home that could be difficult to … Read more…

Power Home Shopping On Cape Cod

Couple_Shopping

With more than 2000 Cape Cod homes currently on the market, you can’t possibly see them all. So how can you be sure you’re not missing any that might have been the perfect fit? Here are some tips for power shopping the MLS. Sign Up For Daily Alerts First and foremost, make sure you are signed up for Daily Alerts. You can do this yourself by signing up on a website like ours which offers … Read more…

Understanding the Massachusetts Lead Law

LeadPaint

If you are buying or selling a home in Massachusetts, you need to understand the Commonwealth’s Lead Law and how it does or doesn’t affect you. Simply put, the law stipulates that a new owner of a home built before 1978 in which a child under six will live or continue to live must have it either de-leaded or brought under interim control within 90 days of taking title. That is the mandate that drives … Read more…